What if I’ve tried the exercises for months and the ptosis can’t be fixed?

24 Nov

Hi all!
I just thought I’d mention the fact that sometimes ptosis is very severe and no amount of exercises will help (though I still suggest people try for a few months before they give up hope…if exercises work for 5 minutes then know you’re on the right way), but before any of you opt for surgery realise that there are many beautiful people with the exact same issue yet it has not stopped them from living life to the fullest or becoming whatever they were destined to be… a wise quote by a married, business woman with ptosis: “Don’t let your insecurities keep you from following your dreams…”

9 Responses to “What if I’ve tried the exercises for months and the ptosis can’t be fixed?”

  1. karina December 31, 2012 at 10:28 am #

    im inspired by your blog but i need help! will you aid in receiving the success you have gotten??? please!

    • Fact is Stranger than Fiction December 31, 2012 at 8:37 pm #

      Hey Karina! Of course I will. Ask anything and I’ll be happy to help 🙂

      • karina January 13, 2013 at 7:22 am #

        I would like to talk to you about this more in depth email me at dimevaquerobaby@yahoo.com

      • i.my.me.mine June 20, 2013 at 6:16 am #

        excuse me. cn u help me too?
        my face is asymmetrical (obviously)
        but im not sure which side should i be exercising.

        pleasepleaseplease
        thnk u
        mayGodblessyou

      • Fact is Stranger than Fiction June 25, 2013 at 8:50 am #

        Howdy!

        Good question! If your face is asymmetrical, then you should be exercising the side of your face that seems most lazy/droopy/inactive.
        Let us know how you’re progressing and ask any questions and I’ll try to get back as soon as I can.

        May God bless you too!

  2. Cla February 20, 2013 at 10:40 pm #

    Hi! Thank you for your kind words and for sharing your techniques. I have a few questions that I hope you can answer if you’re reading.

    In your first post, you mention exercises that made your eyes feel even droppier. Do you remember what they were, and do you think they should be avoided? Apart from the smiling exercises what exercises did you do?
    I try to hold my eyes open wide for a long time (easier in front of a mirror). It’s really tiring so I guess it might be a good exercise. And… I don’t know if it should be done every day, maybe the muscles need to relax one day out of two.

    And another question, that may be too personal (feel free to ignore it). Would you have pictures of your eyes before / now to show us? I think they could motivate your readers

    I’m a young woman with slightly droppy eyes so I’m sometimes told that I look tired/stoned even though I do not smoke and I sleep well.

    Thank you, your blog is great!!! 🙂

    • Fact is Stranger than Fiction June 25, 2013 at 8:23 am #

      Hi there,

      Sorry for the late response, I haven’t been on this for a while but that’s no excuse!

      To answer your first question, what made my eyelid droopier was these ridiculous exercise videos I found on Youtube that suggested you pull your eyelid down with your finger while simultaneously lifting your eyelid against the pressure…as if it would somehow ‘strengthen’ the muscle of the eyelid. Total rubbish I believe and a complete waste of time and effort! But what really makes it droopier is arching the eyebrow of the droopy eye. We naturally do it because the eye is drooping and it temporarily hoists up the eyelid, but long term it does more harm than good. So I would say don’t arch the eyebrow of the droopy eye, but sometimes arch up the ‘normal’ eyelid’s eyebrow to balance out your eyes. This can be done whenever, and no one seems to notice you doing it.

      Secondly, apart from smiling, what you can do is squint as you would if the sun were in your eyes, but only on the side of the droopy eyelid. Do this whenever you feel it getting droopy.

      I don’t really want to post pictures of my eyes on the internet, but I promise you these methods worked for me :). Please let me know how you get on and if you have any difficulties or questions, and I’ll respond as soon as I can.

      I did this blog mostly because I suffered so much stress not being able to find anything on the internet, didn’t want others to go through the same thing and therefore wanted to offer an alternative solution to others – especially those in the U.S, where I know looks are scrutinised and surgical treatment is extremely expensive.

  3. George August 26, 2013 at 5:15 am #

    Hi there,

    My right eye is more slanted/droopier than my left due to an accident when I was young. However my jaw is slanted towards the left. (which leads me to believe I’ve been chewing on the right far too long) I am unsure which way to train my face.

    Please advise.

    • Fact is Stranger than Fiction March 19, 2014 at 2:08 am #

      Hi,

      It is difficult to advise you correctly as I cannot see your face, but from what you describe, I imagine if you smile more widely on the droopier side of your face, you will pull it up in line with your left eye and also pull your jaw more to the right aswell? Smile widely enough so the side of the lazy eye creases. Practise smiling widely just on that side and see if it offers any relief. Experiment with different movements and expressions yourself too to see what offers temporary relief, as this, if practised enough, may offer permanent relief.

      Please keep me informed, I would like to hear how things turn out

Leave a comment