Asymmetry and Mild Ptosis PART 4

2 Oct

Hey guys! Great news! I have been continuing the exercises though not as intensely as  before and it is paying off!

And I’ve also noticed something else which I do which has probably contributed to the droopy eyelid…I only close my right eye when I’m sleeping! So what I now do is make sure I close my left eye from the edge of my eyebrow tightly (from where the edge of your eyebrow connects to the top of your cheekbone) before nodding off and it seems to stay like that because when I wake up, literally my eyelids are the exact same size! No asymmetry!

Another thing I’ve started doing again is smiling harder on the left side of my face because that seems to pull the edge of my eyebrows downwards which ironically pulls my eyelid up…weird I know.

Also, I’ve noticed that I used to lift up my left eyebrow alot because the droopy eyelid was so annoying, but this makes it worse I’ve found, so if you have a droopy eyelid, DO NOT RAISE that eyebrow…

So far it’s amazing, I actually still can’t believe it’s worked, but it has and I recommend people try it before having any surgery. See what works for you. See if you do certain things on one side of your face that you don’t do on the other and then do the opposite to counteract it.

Please message me or send any comments with your journey.

14 Responses to “Asymmetry and Mild Ptosis PART 4”

  1. Erin October 26, 2012 at 11:05 pm #

    Hey there. I love this blog firstly! I have something similar and was hoping for a bit of a clear up/suggestion?

    My right eye is lower down than my left, and my right cheek is ‘fatter’, but I mainly chew on my right. Is this different from you?

    I find it harder to smile on my left side, and I rarely chew on that side. Should I do exercises on my left side do you think? Or the right side? I mainly chew on the right, and I can smile wider to the right. Again, it’s my right eye that is lower down.

    • Fact is Stranger than Fiction November 23, 2012 at 7:41 pm #

      Hi!

      Thanks for the comment and I’m glad you’ve found some use for this blog!

      Firstly I’d like to point out that everyone on the planet have differences between the right and left sides of their face, whether noticeable or not, so asymmetry is inevitable.

      Secondly, it’s difficult for me to really give you my advice without being able to see what’s bothering you, but from your description it sounds like it could just be natural asymmetry that occurs in everyone. What I’m trying to help people with here is asymmetry that occurs as a result of facial muscles not being excercised and vice versa, however these techniques that I’ve been doing cannot work on facial asymmetry that is the result of natural development (i.e. if one side of the jaw is bigger than the other, no amount of exercises can change the bone…but if it’s just fatter then that I’m positive can be changed).

      Take a really good look at yourself, and see if what you notice is the result of natural unalterable development or under/overused facial muscles and try to determine from that what exercises you’d need to come up with from that.

      But as one piece of advice that I’d give to everyone is that if you are overworking one side of your face, then you need to give it a rest and start using the other side a little more. Balance out the yin and yang!

      Peace…

  2. Luke Cooper November 24, 2012 at 9:47 am #

    Thank you first of all for posting this. I have been dealing with ptosis of the left eye since I was old enough to care what I look like (like you). I have been struggling with keeping eye contact with people because I can see them doing the face scanning thing. I know it’s only natural for them to do it but its very uncomfortable. I read a lot about the surgeries and it seemed like their were far more negative side effects then positive ones. So I happened to stumble across your blog. I haven’t started doing anything yet due to the fact that I literally just got done reading them. But I will start doing them right away. My only question first is, I do the raising of the eyebrow to try to compensate and I noticed it is very hard for me to get my eyebrow to relax now due to the fact that I have been doing that for years. Did you find any special way of getting the eyebrow to relax? If there is any other details you can give me I would be thrilled. I can’t express to you how much it means that you took the time to post this for people to try. I hope to hear back from you and I will make sure to update your blog comment section with my (I’m sure to be positive) results. Thank you!

    • Fact is Stranger than Fiction November 24, 2012 at 1:14 pm #

      Hey! Firstly I’m glad you stumbled across this site and I’ll try to help you with your problem!

      As I’ve mentioned before, when there is slight ptosis in one eye we instinctively raise the eyebrow to overcompensate for the ‘droop’, however I noticed that it was making it worse. Like you my eyebrow wouldn’t relax so I thought about it logically…if I’d been exercising it upwards for so long, clearly the muscle above my brow bone had strengthened to the point where it would stay like that permanently, or at least a long time (once I stopped doing it)…so I figured that I’d do the opposite…work on strengthening the muscle to go downwards…so what I started doing was hold my index finger right above the arch of my brow and pull my eyebrow downwards (to strengthen and gravitate the muscle). Don’t hold too firmly, just enough to let it pass through your finger. Do this as many times as you like, but don’t go crazy. At the beginning, when I realised these exercises where giving me temporary relief I started doing so many that I couldn’t even focus on anything else (not healthy, or productive), so I told myself I’d have to take things one step at a time and realise that this is a process that requires patience…because if we’ve been raising our eyebrow for years, it may take at least a few months to bring it back down… Also make sure to fall asleep closing your left eye the exact same way you close your right eye (if you don’t already), and just fall asleep…you’re left eye will naturally stay in that position without you conciously doing it.

      My most important pieces of advice would be:

      Analyse what facial movements you do differently on each side of your face and adjust the movements to the other side accordingly (i.e. if you smile wider on the right side, practice smiling wider on the left side)

      Be patient. Results take time. Even now I have to sometimes do a few exercises, but nowhere near as much as before and when I wake up in the morning my eyes are symmetrical! But don’t panic…if one day results are great and the next day they slump, just relax, carry on doing the exercises and don’t despair (everyone gets a droopy eyelid from time to time, even those without ptosis!)

      My self-esteem has increased so much and I can finally give people eye contact! Please let me know how it goes for you and if you need any more help/support I’ll be happy to help. I’m no doctor/surgeon, but these methods have worked for me so I’m happy to share my experiences!

      Hope that’s helped!

  3. Peter December 30, 2012 at 1:48 pm #

    so ive recently discovered i have developed a slightly droopy left eyelid….i, like you, think surgery is just too invasive so i stumbled upon this blog…i read your posts and thus far my exercises consists of these 3 things:

    1. chewing on the left side only (i noticed i really only chew on the right side)
    2. putting my index finger on my left eyebrow and pulling down against the finger (this seems to open my eyelid more)
    3. smiling with my left side (ive noticed before that i have a bigger smile on the right side)

    What do you think of these? Anything more you would add? Thank you very much for this blog…I really like your thought process on being more dominant on one side or the other…its so obvious after some self awareness.

    • Fact is Stranger than Fiction December 31, 2012 at 8:36 pm #

      Hey, I’m so glad you’re finding some use in my blog, hence the reason I decided to create it in the first place…I want people to realise there are alternatives!

      You’re doing all the right things but if putting your index finger makes it worse then I suggest you stop…like I said in previous posts it’s all about individual differences, you have to find what works for you and experiment (it took me months as you can see lol). I would also suggest you sleep tightly closing the left eye (when you go sleep see if you naturally close your right eye more, and do the same with the left eye while trying to relax the right eye. I find by the time you fall asleep it naturally stays closed)

      Also, when you’re awake try squinting the side of your left eye (i.e. bring top of cheek bone together with end of eyebrow).

      Do this several times whenever you have a chance, and when no one’s looking lol.

      Definitely smiling wider on the left side than on the right sides helps ALOT!

      Also, try raising your right eyebrow a little each day to even it out.

      Hope that helps. Let me know how it goes!

  4. Erin January 31, 2013 at 5:12 pm #

    Thank you for your reply to my post. Ive beun to wonder if I actually do chew more on my right… or if I just think I do! My right eye is lower down, so I’m going to keep chewing on that side for a few months and take pictures .

    Thank you for your blog again, the chewing thing is something I’d thought about, so it’s glad to see it wrked out for you (and hopefully me!)

  5. Larissa May 4, 2013 at 4:16 am #

    Hey.

    I have a droppy/lazy eyelid and I never noticed it until one day a friend if mine took a photo of me then I realised how asymmetrical my face is.. My smile is crooked it just makes my face look really uneven. I already have self confidence issues and now I have more things to worry about. I’m worried if I go to the doctors they’ll say to just get over it but its really starting to annoy me. I please help me. What did you do to help it?

    • Fact is Stranger than Fiction June 25, 2013 at 8:41 am #

      Hi Larissa,

      Yes sweetie, I know it can be so stressful, believe me. Check out my blogs and the comments below/above for more info on the exercises I did and see if any of them work for you. Forget doctors, they don’t know their stethoscope from their ****. All they know is prescribing pills! If you do something a lot on one side of your face, like smiling to one side, then balance it out by doing on the other side instead. Another tip that I don’t know if I mentioned it to squint as though the sun is in your eyes, but only on the side of the droopy eyelid. This really works, and can be done anytime you feel it drooping! Take charge of your own well-being and only trust God, your Creator, who helped me find these methods. Just be patient and don’t stress. Let me know if you still have trouble after doing the exercises. All the best!

  6. Milk June 10, 2013 at 8:37 am #

    Hi. Thank you for sharing this to US. You are my saviour! I have a question though. I plan to purchase a pack of chewing gum and chew on a daily basis. Would that be considered as cheek exercise?

    • Fact is Stranger than Fiction June 25, 2013 at 8:48 am #

      Hi Milk,

      I’m glad this blog has brought you some relief, but remember our Creator helped me develop these techniques, and He led you to my blog, so really thank Him. Answering your question, I suppose it would but what I really recommend is to not arch/raise the eyebrow of the droopy eyelid at all if you can, and raise the other eyebrow from time to time to balance it out (if your eyebrows are unbalanced). When you feel it drooping, then squint that side of your face ONLY as if the sun were in your eyes. Also, squeeze your droopy eye tightly shut before going to sleep. These have helped me the most. Hope that helps, please let me know if you need more help and let us all know how you are progressing!

  7. Will Smith June 29, 2013 at 4:03 am #

    Hi, can you please elaborate and explain the part where you close the part of the eyebrow which connects to the cheekbone before nodding off? I didn’t quite understand it. Thanks

    • Fact is Stranger than Fiction March 19, 2014 at 2:37 am #

      Hi Will Smith

      I basically squint that eye (as much as is comfortable and doesn’t interfere my getting to sleep) more than the other eye before I nod off.

      I hope that answers your question

  8. aria September 12, 2013 at 9:57 am #

    Hye..thank you for the good news..can you please make a video about the exercise..please..so that i will clear about the exercise that i should do..please please please

Leave a comment